About RSNN

  • Legacy
  • Steering Committee
  • Advisory Board
  • Program Office

About RSNN

Regulatory Science Network Netherlands (RSNN) is a network of experts from industry, academia, government bodies, and the broader regulatory science field. RSNN offers a unique platform for stakeholders from different backgrounds to meet and discuss regulatory science as equal partners. Our mission is to advance an efficient and effective regulatory system that supports medicines development, marketing authorization, access, and appropriate use of medicines. RSNN shares and disseminates knowledge among all stakeholders and sets the agenda for further research.

A variety of activities support our mission. These include a yearly RSNN workshop around a topic that deserves or attracts interest, and also scientific sessions during conferences such as FIGON Dutch Medicines Days. Alongside its meeting reports, the RSNN stimulates publication of relevant papers based on RSNN activities designed to stimulate national and international debate on regulatory science. Participants in the network receive news on developments in the field via our regular newsletters.

The RSNN is an inclusive organization, with all activities open to anyone interested. Such inclusiveness helps us to set agendas for future research, and to act as a breeding ground for new research initiatives.

We would love to hear from you!

Submit your ideas, questions or topics for Regulatory Science in the Netherlands and we will be in touch.

Submit your ideas


The RSNN was founded on October 5, 2015, during the FIGON Dutch Medicines Days. The initiative was started by the Medicines Evaluation Board (MEB); the TI Pharma Escher project; and the Dutch Society of Pharmaceutical Medicine. The goal was to consolidate and strengthen national research networks in the field of regulatory science.   

Until 2017, the RSNN was funded by the MEB with independent grants from Pfizer and Janssen, and governed by a Steering Committee with the support of an Advisory Board. In 2018, a partnership was formed by the MEB; the Association of Innovative Medicines (VIG); Utrecht University (UU); University Medical Center Groningen (UMCG); and Lygature, in order to further strengthen and expand the network. The RSNN is co-financed by the MEB, the Association of Innovative Medicines (VIG) and HollandBIO.

Steering Committee

The RSNN Steering Committee consists of two representatives from academia, two representatives from governmental bodies, and two representatives from industry. It is chaired by professor Bert Leufkens (Utrecht University). Members of the Steering Committee are as follows:

Bert Leufkens | Chair

Peter van Meer | Vice-chair

Medicines Evaluation Board (CBG-MEB)

Just Weemers | Vice-chair

Janssen Biologics

Sjaak Bot

Janssen Biologics

Marjon Pasmooij

Medicines Evaluation Board (CBG-MEB)

Marieke De Bruin

Utrecht University

Peter Mol

UMCG/Medicines Evaluation Board (CBG-MEB)

Pieter Stolk | non-voting


Robin Verjans | non-voting


Advisory Board

Members of the RSNN Advisory Board support the Steering Committee. They provide input to the organization for RSNN events, policy plans, project output, and future topics. Members of the Advisory Board are as follows:

  • Dr. Peter Bertens, VIG
  • Carine Besselink, Eupati fellow
  • Ienke Brombacher, Medicines Evaluation Board (CBG-MEB)
  • Prof. Dr. Joop van Gerven , Centrale Commissie Mensgebonden Onderzoek
  • Marit Heblij, HollandBIO
  • Dr. Jarno Hoekman, Utrecht University
  • Dr. Agnes Kant, Lareb
  • Prof. Dr. Aletta Kraneveld, Utrecht University
  • Dr. Larissa de Lannoy, PSC Patients Europe, patient advocate
  • Aimad Torqui, MSD
  • Pauline Walstra, Astellas
  • Wieteke Wouters, HollandBIO

Program Office

The RSNN Program Office at Lygature handles the coordination, program management and communications. In addition, Lygature is responsible for the scientific management and stakeholder management.  

Pieter Stolk

Program Manager

Robin Verjans

Program Manager

Mark Pieters

Project Communications Manager

Léone Böck

Office Support