RSNN appoints new chairs, welcomes Carla Vos to steering committee

02 May 2022
Share this article

The Regulatory Science Network Netherlands (RSNN) is excited to announce that Marjon Pasmooij (CBG-MEB), Sjaak Bot (Janssen) and Peter Mol (UMCG) have been appointed as new chairs of RSNN. The new chairs each represent one of the three main stakeholder groups within RSNN: regulators, industry and academia.

RSNN was founded in 2015 by the Medicines Evaluation Board (MEB), the TI Pharma Escher project and the Dutch Society of Pharmaceutical Medicine. Its goal was to consolidate and strengthen national research networks in the field of regulatory science. In 2018 a partnership was formed to further strengthen and expand the network, bringing in the Association of Innovative Medicines (VIG), Utrecht University (UU), University Medical Center Groningen (UMCG) and Lygature.

Marjon Pasmooij commented on her appointment as one of the three new chairs:'The RSNN is a unique platform that brings together academics, regulators and industry. With Science as one of the MEB’s core values, we aim for a strong academic network and effective cooperation. Collaboration is key. Especially with major challenges ahead, like big data and personalized medicine, we really should stay in close contact with all these stakeholders. To stimulate research and to optimize and improve regulatory processes. That is why I’m happy to be part of the RSNN.'

The new chairs take over from the previous chair Bert Leufkens, who chaired the RSNN from the onset in 2015. Bert will continue to have an active role within RSNN. Sjaak Bot reflected on the important role Bert has had for the RSNN and the regulatory field during these years and thanked him for his contributions: 

'Bert has shown to be the perfect person to set up and lead the RSNN for the past years. He is a unique bridge-builder who brought the academia, regulators and industry together in a balanced platform. Besides his experience in academia and his leadership within the regulatory authorities, he has always shown an open mind to the contributions of the pharmaceutical industry. Together we share the ambition to monitor and improve the regulatory framework, in order to bring safe and effective medicines faster to patients.'


The RSNN steering committee, with the three new chairs on the left


Bert Leufkens said the following about the change in RSNN leadership:'To start a job is easy, but to ensure sustained continuity is the hard work. Therefore I am very happy that the RSNN has found superb new leadership in Marjon, Sjaak and Peter. All three have strong and acknowledged foundations in regulatory science and innovation, both on a national and international level. We see exciting, but also challenging, developments on the European agenda of regulatory science and preparedness. But also the national agenda with FAST, with National Growth Fund projects like PharmaNL, OncoPACT, Biotech Booster, regulatory innovation is at the heart of many ambitions. RSNN is prepared to fulfil pivotal roles in this agenda.'

Just Weemers (Janssen) has also resigned from his role as a member of the RSNN Steering Committee. His position as Steering committee member will be taken over by Carla Vos (VIG).

From March 2022, RSNN has further revised its governance by introducing a chair for the RSNN Advisory Committee. This new position has been introduced to further empower the Advisory Committee. Just Weemers has become the first chair of the RSNN Advisory Committee.

With these changes in the governance, RSNN continues to build a strong foundation for expanding its role and impact in the regulatory field in the coming years.


Marjon Pasmooij
In 2019 Marjon Pasmooij was appointed the Science Programme Manager at the Dutch Medicines Evaluation Board (MEB). She has worked in a variety of positions at the MEB since 2007. She has been a member of the RSNN Steering Group since 2018. On a European level she participates several networks and steering groups of the European Medicines Agency and the HMA (Heads of Medicines Agencies). Marjon obtained her PhD in Groningen in 2006.
Sjaak Bot
Since 2020 Sjaak Bot is Senior Advisor Global Regulatory Affairs at Janssen. In that role he leads several global and local business-improvement initiatives for Janssen and Johnson & Johnson Regulatory Affairs. He also serves as a Board Member for Janssen Biologics BV in Leiden. Sjaak joined Johnson & Johnson in 2002 as Head of Regulatory Affairs Europe for Centocor, which transitioned into Janssen in 2008. Besides his roles at Janssen, Sjaak is Senior Regulatory Expert at Lygature.
Peter Mol
Peter Mol is a senior assessor at the Dutch Medicines Evaluation Board and a member (vice chair) of EMA’s Scientific Advice Working Party. He has coordinated over 250 EMA and national scientific advice procedures for drug development programs for cardiometabolic, gynecology and hematology products. He is also chair of the EMA Cross-Committee Task force on Registries and professor of drug regulatory science at the University Medical Center Groningen. His research focus is on developing new tools to support regulatory decision-making and the exchange of knowledge between regulatory authorities, health care professionals and lay people.
Carla Vos
Carla Vos started studying Health Sciences in Maastricht, followed by a PhD in Leiden in the field of cancer. After receiving her PhD she worked at MSD for over 20 years in various roles, including 10 years as an MT member. She now works at the Association of Innovative Medicines (VIG), the branch organization of innovative pharmaceutical companies in the Netherlands. Her current position is Head of Policy.